slip the pink floyd experience


News archive > Capitol Records to release David Gilmour concert DVD/VHS

(Want the latest Floyd news emailed to you? Join our mailing list.)
(Posted: Aug. 25, 2002. Got a tip to share? Email us.)

david gilmour in concertCapitol Records to release David Gilmour concert DVD/VHS
Film documents Pink Floyd guitarist's recent London shows

Capitol Records will release "David Gilmour in Concert," a film documenting the Pink Floyd guitarist's semi-acoustic London shows of 2001 and 2002. The title will be released Oct. 21 in the U.K. The release date for the U.S., confirmed by a Capitol Record spokesperson, is Nov. 5.

The 130-minute film will include 16 songs that Gilmour performed at the Meltdown Festival concert at London's Royal Festival Hall in June 2001 and three concerts at the hall in January 2002.

Songs on the package include Floyd classics like "Wish You Were Here" and "Comfortably Numb," as well as more adventurous choices like Syd Barrett's "Terrapin" and "Dominoes," "Je Crois Entendre Encore" from the Bizet opera "The Pearl Fishers," and Richard Thompson's "Dimming of the Day." The film also features a new Gilmour composition: "Smile."

Gilmour's band for the shows was comprised of Floyd collaborator Michael Kamen, piano and cor anglais; Chucho Merchan, double bass; Caroline Dale, cello; Dick Parry ("Wish You Were Here") saxophone, Neill MacColl, acoustic guitar; Nic France, percussion; and a gospel choir led by Sam Brown.

Guest appearances include Floyd's Rick Wright, Robert Wyatt (Soft Machine) and Bob Geldof (Boomtown Rats, "Pink Floyd The Wall").

The DVD version will include more than a half-hour of extra material, including:

  • Three bonus songs ("Don't," "I Put a Spell on You" and "Shakespeare's Sonnet 18") recorded at different venues
  • Rehearsal footage of Gilmour at his home studio with the choir
  • A choral version of "High Hopes"
  • Close-up footage of Gilmour's hands on six guitar solos
  • Lyrics for all songs performed at the concerts

The title will be available on DVD and VHS, in formats viewable by people in Europe and Japan, as well as North America. It will be presented in 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround and 24-bit stereo LPCM.

The full track listing is:

  1. Shine on You Crazy Diamond Parts 1-5
  2. Terrapin
  3. Fat Old Sun
  4. Coming Back To Life
  5. High Hopes
  6. Je Crois Entendre Encore
  7. Smile
  8. Wish You Were Here
  9. Comfortably Numb
  10. Dimming of the Day
  11. Shine On You Crazy Diamond Parts 6-8
  12. A Great Day for Freedom
  13. Hushabye Mountain
  14. Dominoes
  15. Breakthrough
  16. Comfortably Numb

Order your copy now.

Related stories:

(Posted: Aug. 25, 2002; Aug. 27, 2002; Oct. 1, 2002)


©1995-2009 Random Precision Media. All rights reserved.
Updated: Jan. 27, 2003

more news

Latest news