Relics (1971)

Pink Floyd

"Arnold Layne had a strange hobby ..."

"Relics" is composed of several songs that were released as singles by Pink Floyd. Up to the point the album was released in 1971, many of the numbers had only been released as singles, while others had appeared on various Floyd albums.

There have been a few different album covers for "Relics." The original featured a somewhat Rube Goldberg-esque line drawing from drummer Nick Mason. When the LP was released in the United States, it sported strange masks — actually bottle openers with someone sticking his or her tongue through the mouth opening. The Australian version displayed old coins on the cover.

"Relics" reached number 152 on the United States Billboard album chart.

Oddly, a CD version of the album was not available — except for a limited New Zealand pressing! — until 1995.

The version we play on "Floydian Slip" is the 1995 Capitol remaster. The artwork is a 3D model based on the Mason line drawing.
relics album cover

Release date

Jul 15, 1971 (UK)
May 14, 1971 (US)

Rating ( votes)

processing ...
1 2 3 4 5

Thanks for rating "Relics"

Track listing

  1. Arnold Layne
    02:57 (Barrett)
  2. Interstellar Overdrive
    09:43 (Barrett/Mason/Waters/Wright)
  3. See Emily Play
    02:54 (Barrett)
  4. Remember a Day
    04:29 (Wright)
  5. Paintbox
    03:33 (Wright)
  6. Julia Dream
    02:37 (Waters)
  7. Careful With That Axe, Eugene
    05:46 (Mason/Waters/Wright/Gilmour)
  8. Cirrus Minor
    05:18 (Waters)
  9. The Nile Song
    03:26 (Waters)
  10. Biding My Time
    05:18 (Waters)
  11. Bike
    03:22 (Barrett)